Ends on

The Library of Congress Lavine/Ken Burns Prize for Film is a $200,000 cash prize presented annually by the Library of Congress in partnership with The Better Angels Society. A $50,000 cash prize will also be awarded to one runner-up, and $25,000 will be awarded to each of four additional finalists. Prize for Film winners will be recognized by the Librarian of Congress, Dr. Carla Hayden, at a ceremony with Ken Burns on September 17, 2024, at the Library of Congress in Washington, DC.

General Guidelines:

The Prize for Film recognizes documentary films that focus on an American historical subject, issue, or person within a time frame occurring at least twenty years prior to submission that presents a variety of perspectives grounded in extensive and thorough research. The majority of the film must be historically focused to qualify. Late submissions will not be accepted. All submissions meeting the Eligibility and Application requirements are considered. Please carefully review the full list of Eligibility and Application requirements before applying.

Applicants will be notified of their status on or before September 1, 2024. 

SUBMISSIONS OPEN: February 15, 2024, at 12:00 a.m. EST

SUBMISSIONS CLOSE: MAY 1, 2024 at 11:59 p.m. EST

Contact Us:

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.